The Many Adventures of Winnie the Pooh/Mickey Monday

It’s that time of year again! We are counting down to our Disney Vacation with a family celebration every Monday. I like to do themes based on WDW rides, so this year I chose Pooh and Friends. My kids are growing up and all of our Pooh stuff was in storage already. I don’t know how much time I have left before these kiddos are too cool for Pooh. So Pooh it was!

I decorated our dining room simply, with pastels and plaid tablecloth.(which I thought gave it a picnic feel) I used stuffed pooh and friends to decorate the table.

IMG_1174
I should have hung the bumble bees I had left over from my son’s Frozen party, because he said, “Is that all?” when he saw the decor. He didn’t say it in a rude way, but I could tell he was underwhelmed. IMG_1178I went OVERBOARD last year, and have spoiled them. But this month alone, I have 3 completely different camps, 2 of which are my own creation. So what I did is going to have to do, kids! Wouldn’t it have been cool to have a picnic? I know my husband hates to eat outside, but that’s what I wanted. Moving on…
My kids wanted to Disney Bound as Pooh characters, and they did a cute job! They even made a tail for my son, but in true Eeyore fashion, it fell off and got lost.

IMG_1184

Dinner is always the start to our party! My husband was super dad and even printed out a menu of the yummy 100 acre woods food he made.100 Acre Menu

IMG_1186

I like to serve a special drink, so I made Honey Mint Lemonade and served it in Mason jars with a slice of lemon & a sprig of mint.IMG_1185

Honey Mint Lemonade
Yield: 6 servings
Prep Time: 25 minutes plus chilling
Ingredients:
For the Mint Simple Syrup:
• 3/4 cup granulated sugar
• 3/4 cup water
• 1/3 cup packed roughly chopped fresh mint leaves
For the Lemonade:
• 3 cups water
• 1-1/2 cups fresh lemon juice
• 2 tablespoons honey
• Fresh mint leaves, for garnish (if desired)
Directions:
1. Make the Mint Simple Syrup: In small sauce pot, stir together sugar, water and mint. Cook over medium heat 4 to 6 minutes or until sugar is dissolved. Remove from heat; let stand 10 minutes. Strain through a fine mesh strainer; discard mint. Transfer to jar or container and refrigerate 4 hours or up to 5 days.
2. Make the Lemonade: In pitcher, stir together water, lemon juice, honey and Mint Simple Syrup. Fill 6 glasses with ice, and mint leaves, if desired. Serve lemonade over ice.

You definitely could add more water to this! I made ours the night before and refrigerated it so that all the flavors were blended.

Dessert was delightful! Honey Lemon cupcakes made from scratch! My husband never bakes from scratch, which made these even more precious!IMG_1188

Activities:
The parents finished well before the kids, so we took turns reading from a list of 100 Acre Jokes I had found online.

At this point, the boys watched the Pooh movie while my daughter and I went to her piano lesson. We got home minutes after the movie was over, and my son was ready to continue the fun!

Together we made a no bake snack. (I found the recipe here, and tweaked it a little, using Honeycomb cereal and adding a very little bit of butterscotch chips) http://nateandrachael.com/no-bake-cookies-poohs-favorite-party-snack/

IMG_1191

Then we played Pooh Bingo. (you could play this while watching the movie, too.) http://sweetteaandsavinggraceblog.com/2013/08/the-many-adventures-of-winnie-the-pooh-bingo-game.html
(Directions for playing this as you and your child watch the movie: Look for the images or scenes on the BINGO card and mark them off as you see them. The first one to get five in a row wins!)

IMG_1189

Who Am I?
Write the names of Winnie the Pooh characters on slips of paper then put the slips into a cup. Have each child draw out a slip. The character will be the one they need to act out — silently (if possible). Play a game of charades so each child can imitate their character and the others can guess.
IMG_1195

In addition to playing the music loop from the ride found on you tube while we ate, I had also printed a pic fro them to color. They didn’t color it. I could have made this an all day event, if I weren’t leaving the very next day! You could start the day with pooh pancakes, play pooh sticks at a local park….) I even found Pooh and Friends cross stitch pictures on Pinterest that my teen would have liked.

IMG_1204

Our first Mickey Monday of the year was a success. Soon we will start counting down each day by doing a little something fun daily. But for now, I’m going to hop like Tigger to my bed, so that I’m not grumpy like Rabbit tomorrow!

One thought on “The Many Adventures of Winnie the Pooh/Mickey Monday

Leave a Reply

