Reading Disney

I read a story to my now 6 year old every night, and I read a chapter of a book to my 12 year old as well. Then we finish up with age appropriate devotions. It’s our one on one time each evening. Once our Disney vacation is a month or so away, I start to specifically read Disney books to the kids. For my son, I get books from the library, usually getting some new ones that have just been published that year, as well as reading through some story books with lots of stories in one big book. We have a good collection of Disney books as well, on our own bookshelf.

Finding a Disney themed book for my 12 year old is a little more challenging. When she was young, and just starting to read chapter books, I got her the Neverland book series by Dave Barry & Ridley Pearson. This is for younger readers in 1st grade – 4th. These were the books that really got her started reading chapter books. She also enjoyed reading Disney Fairies books, Stepping Stone books. They have a whole series for young readers in 1st-4th grade. They have different authors, but Kiki Thorpe wrote “Tink, North of Neverland” if you want one to get started.

When she was a little older, together we read the Peter and the Starcatcher series by Barry & Pearson. These stories are all intertwined, but the Peter series is too intense for younger kids, and that’s why they wrote the Neverland series. These stories tell Peter Pan’s story BEFORE he became Peter Pan, and they are extremely well written.

Next, we read the Kingdom Keepers series by Ridley Pearson. I may have started reading these to her, but these books are so great that she read them on her own. Isn’t that always the goal of a mom reading to her kids? I had been reading the series as they come out, but she caught up to me and then passed me on the last book.

Last year, we read “The Key to the Kingdom” by Jeff Dixon. I was very excited to find out that it started off yet another series! We plan to read the second book in the series this year.

We have read or tried to read other books that we just didn’t end up liking, so I haven’t mentioned them here. If you have any more suggestions, I would love to hear them! I’m always looking for a good read, especially if it is based in Disney World.

And that leaves…ME! I will readily admit that I read all of those books before reading them to my daughter and enjoyed them. Before my last WDW vacation, I enjoyed reading “Summer of Yesterday” by Gaby Triana. For interesting facts, you can read ” The Imagineering Field Guide to Disney’s Magic Kingdom at Walt Disney Worldby Disney Editions. You can change the title to include any of the parks, too. Another book I liked was “The Hidden Magic of Walt Disney World Trivia: A Ride-by-Ride Exploration of the History, Facts, and Secrets Behind the Magic Kingdom, Epcot, Disney’s Hollywood Studios, and Disney’s Animal Kingdom” by Susan Veness

If you are new to Walt Disney World, read “The Unofficial Guide to Walt Disney World 2015” by Bob Sehlinger.

 And finally, dads might like “Ears of Steel: The Real Man’s Guide to Walt Disney World” by Bart Scott. I didn’t read the whole thing, but what I did read was funny.

Leave a Reply

