Mickey Monday: Tower of Terror

IMG_5622 We invite you, if you dare, to share our T.O.T. Mickey Monday last October. I did my best to decorate the dining room to look like the front lobby of the ride, complete with spider webs! My little ghost children (actually, my boy said he was disney bounding as a spider web) were going to bravely ride this year on our upcoming trip. That’s why I chose this theme.

IMG_5624 IMG_5625        

I looked up pictures of the lobby online for ideas. OK, OK, I studied them. Then I brought in our living room rug, and some dead flowers from outside since there are a lot of dead flowers in the lobby of TOT. I brought out “old” things from all over my house, including a chair from storage in the basement. Mickey was there because the little girl in the ride is holding him.IMG_5623 IMG_5626 IMG_5621 It’s all in the details!

IMG_5633 IMG_5631 IMG_5635We had a fancy dinner of Beef Wellington, finger potatoes and green beans. Dinner was delicious! We served it on Will’s grandmother’s plates. We also had Boo-Nilla Milkshakes. I made these by melting some chocolate chips and then making a face on the inside of a plastic cup with the melted chocolate. I kept them in the fridge until I was ready to make the vanilla shakes.

IMG_5661 Dessert was yummy Creme Brulee! The chocolate square from last year’s Disney cruise was a nice touch!

IMG_5649 IMG_5658 Our main activity besides dinner was a game I made up for the kids. They had to deliver certain pieces of empty luggage to certain rooms and different rooms needed extra things, like shampoo or a blanket. This was good reading practice for my 5 year old. Every room also needed a wake-up call, so they would have to leave the correctly set clock in each room. This was good practice for reading a clock. (I try to combine learning with fun as much as possible!) Here is the program I made up:Tower of Terror nightIMG_5659 IMG_5660 They had fun and did a great job as bell service managers. They even tucked in her guests!

We waited til the next day to watch an episode of the Twilight Zone.

IMG_5654 Don’t forget that ambient music! You can find it on you tube.  http://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLA073AD8C1E779F8A

Leave a Reply

